"Little Pieces of Thoughts" (Studio Portion; 2004)

Reviewed by Christopher J. Kelter

"Little Pieces Of Thoughts" is the title of an EP released by a Finnish band called The Portion. "Little Pieces Of Thoughts" features five acoustic, guitar-driven rock'n'roll numbers that romp through the backdrop of a typical band set-up (two guitars, keyboards, bass, drums, and backing vocals).

The overall impact of the five songs on "Little Pieces Of Thoughts" reminds me of the way Saigon Kick always managed to have a humorous ditty on their typically dark and somber outings. The music is generally upbeat and, as the band's website suggests, is indicative of a festive atmosphere with a group of friends. The vocals are certainly strong and sung in such a fashion as to belie the comically unsettling topics running through the songs.

"Little Pieces Of Thoughts" is not a hard rock or a heavy metal record by any stretch of the imagination. However, if you are a fan of traditional rock with an emphasis on humorous lyrics then The Portion is up your alley.

"Little Pieces Of Thoughts" was produced by Edu Kettunen and Kari Harkonen.

The Portion: Kari Harkonen on vocals and guitar, Lotta Rytkonen on backing vocals, Kimmo Lukkarila and Jussi-Petten Kananoja on guitars, Edu Kettunen on keyboards, Mikko Haapakorva on bass, and Bastian Schallschmidt on drums.

For more information visit http://www.theportion.com.

Review in place: www.roughedge.com/cdreviews/p/portion.htm


Back to News page